Experimenting and challenging our limits

5 02 2015

When a new semester begins I know what courses I am Angtuaco Horizon10 (1)teaching and how many students are enrolled in my class but I don’t know details.  Details like how will my students respond to what focus, how skilled they are in particular areas, and what will be the motivation for them to exceed the expectations.  Each class is unique.  I may be teaching a Drawing class and it will have a similar demographic compared to the first semester Drawing class and I will teach the same lesson criteria and skills but the class will function and behave differently.  I always remix or update my projects based on the assessements of the students  on what they exhibit during skill building warm ups.  I also check in with my students on their interests and what do they want to learn more about.

IMG_2089I have been energized and impressed with my students this semester in all of my new semester courses.  My Media Art class has been doing an outstanding job.  They are beginning to learn about Photoshop and all the different ways images can be manipulated.  I assign lessons to teach good rules for taking well composed photographs and also how to get to know their own digital cameras.  After teaching this class for awhile I know I get excited and move along quickly so I strive to slow down and shepard the group together. This group of students are so interested and have no fear when approaching editing images.  What a breath of fresh air.  We will be producing a great body of work in no time.  Now, my only fear is will I be able to keep up with all of them.  

My Sculpture class is full of energy and all have Riley B boxdifferent skill sets and interests.  We are beginning to wrap up our first project using recycled and upcycled materials into box sculptures that are inspired by Joseph Cornell boxes.  We are using Global Issues as our focus for a theme for the sculptures.  I am pleased with the projects and I am discovering who needs more direction and who does best to explore on their own.

Emily F cornell box

FullSizeRender copy

Our next lesson is new for me and I am looking forward to to seeing the outcome.  I was inspired by what materials I had available, which was a bunch of plaster.  Then I came across an artist who I was really drawn to and I knew this group of students could handle this project.

FullSizeRender[1]

The lesson is repurposing a garment or object that students identify with a story.  I am calling it, Story Garment and I am leaving enough room for students to be creative and find other items to interpret with this focus.

MIMG_2472y Painting class is working hard on designing original pieces with a limited three color harmony.  They are learning how tempera paint can be thinned with water to create brush strokes and transparency.  The lesson also has the student practicing color mixing with tints and shades too.  The designs are beautiful and with close attention to craftsmanship the works will be beautiful paintings that anyone would want to reproduce as wall paper, tiles, and fabric.

IMG_2471

FullSizeRender[1] 2

My Drawing class started with a lesson utlizing collage and learning more about Romare Bearden and his wonderful works of art created with collage about family traditions and celebrations.  Each student has selected a theme based on a family tradition or memory of a celebration.  Students are learning how to mix in collage materials with hand drawn objects.  Since we are venturing into a TAB classroom materials are free to choose from to execute the art piece and the two different Drawing level students have a different target to demonstrate for completion.  The works are coming along and are impressive in detail, texture, color, and variety of themes.

FullSizeRender 3

FullSizeRender[2]

Award season is right around the corner so it will be getting super busy.  Curbside Couture workshops will start firing up to gear up for the new runway show so I will have plenty to chat about here soon.  Until then keep inspiring other art educators and inspiring the future designers of the world.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

