Many ways to nurture creativity, innovation, and service.

8 11 2015

IMG_6593My philosophy is, I have so many interests and I am passionate about all of them, so why not share it with the individuals who I spend most of my time influencing everyday. It just makes sense to me. I often hear this in my mind. “Be the change you want to see in the world” and “you will be remembered by how you made people feel”. No one knows how much time you have on this planet and I want my time to count for something worthwhile. I am one person, I am just an art educator, but I want to make a difference and I can by influencing others who will continue to influence more people. In my opinion, this is the best way to spend your time.

My program at school includes many moving parts that flow seamlessly and often has students gliding between one and more of my programs.  I believe in empowering students to take charge and to explore many different interests.  So with that in mind I host several projects and programs.

It is crazy at times because while I am teaching art in a TAB studio to five different courses, I’m striving to keep creating my own art and grow as an artist. Plus, keep up with art shows, professional development, home life, being a mom…..

IMG_5598

Balance

I find it is all worth it. You can see it in the student’s eyes when they are learning something new or they accomplish something for someone else. You can sense the pride they feel and it is contagious. So this is my method to balance.

IMG_6606

Art Club

I am the Art Club advisor that includes our Homes for Haiti project and our Curbside Couture Recycle Runway Show, mixed in with multiple service learning projects.  This year we are taking on a project to help raise money for local area art programs in public schools.  We are painting canvas tabletop cloths for the Garden Society of America’s big Garden Convention that will be hosted here in Arkansas.  We will be painting flowers and butterflies onto canvas that will be sealed and serve as the tabletop decorations for the luncheon.  The paintings will then be auctioned off at the event and all the money raised will be given to the Thea Foundation.  Specifically, Thea’s Art Closet that helps to serve under supported visual art programs.  It’s a way to get my art students to make beautiful art for one organization and to help local art programs.  Keeping vibrant art programs alive with great art supplies helps students stay in school and helps our community grow in a positive direction by fueling creativity.

IMG_6643

Culinary Club

Culinary Club exposes students to cooking, meeting and learning from local chefs, assists students to gain knowledge about food and quality foods, and we get to explore culture through food.  With the cooperation of area chefs and home cooks we are able to teach students how to cook great healthy food.  Today we had our first event and our focus was Sushi.  It was so much fun watching students prep the food and learn how to prepare sushi rolls and to get creative with new sushi roll combinations.  Culinary Arts is an art form and learning to feed yourself is a life skill.

Sushi Class6

IMG_6717

Fishing Club

I am also the advisor for the Fishing Club in our school.  I have over thirteen years of experience working with young children and fishing.  This week we had the Arkansas Game and Fish education coordinator come and share how to teach youth about fishing.  We fish tournaments but we also focus on conservation and exposing other children about fishing.  One of our goals is to host a youth fishing derby to teach kids how to cast, identify fish species, and how to take care of our local resources.

IMG_6665

Fishing Class5

As much as this seems unrelated it is not. How to keep this all working? Is to teach young people to step up and be the student directors, mentor them to be organized, good communicators, good advocates, and stretch into the world for experts to help you with your goals. Tap the people who surround you. Other teachers in the building may have a skill set and an interest that would love to help you with a project. I work with the French teacher to support our Culinary Club and I tap several professionals outside my school to help support the Art Club and Fishing Team. You become involved in the school and the greater community. You build a network of support for more opportunities to enrich the young people in your lives. You gain pride in the projects and you gain stronger bonds with your school community.   Plus- YOU MAKE A DIFFERENCE. When you make a difference so many other elements in your life fall into place.

IMG_6667

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

