Kicking into High Gear

3 09 2016

Quick overview of my Choice Based Studio organization and student management.

Screen Shot 2016-09-03 at 12.38.19 PM

So it starts with front loading a student learning management platform and creating Google forms.  I use Haiku, Google Forms, and Sway to manage, document, guide, scaffold, and inspire my student artists so they can expand beyond their own imagination.  Here are some screen shots of the curated folders I have created on my Haiku page.

Here is a screen shot of my Google drive of the forms I have for my students. My forms include Artist Proposal, Summative Assessment, Formative Assessment, Artist Statement Form. Plus a few special forms specific to the AP Studio Art course.

Screen Shot 2016-09-03 at 1.14.31 PM

Here is some screen shots of the data I can gather from the Google forms collected from  the Art Proposal.

This data can be used to track student selections of media, themes, artistic targets,etc.  I can use the information to help guide my learners and scaffold workshops to push the engagement and skill sets of each artist.  I can also track the media use and order supplies based on an average of media selected and used.  I plan on using the data to see how the semester evolves from practice– experimenting, improvement-skill building, mastery– highest development, and then finally portfolio.  Currently it is showing a higher percentage of practice and skill building.  This is totally expected for the beginning of the school year with so many beginner level students.

I hope many of you find this helpful.  I will be presenting to a group of art teachers in NWA in October and I will record the workshop.  I will then post it on a YouTube channel with common questions with answers.

Have a great Labor Day weekend.  I’m off to relax.


Actions

Information

2 responses

27 09 2016
Judy Harney

hi Joy… i would love to see your forms for the first start of the school year. I’m struggling a little with developing forms for students to write their artist proposal for their projects. We are getting there but too slowly.

2 10 2016
Joy Schultz

I have a open link for examples of my forms on Blendspace.

Leave a comment