Art shows and Awards

5 05 2015

Figure Ground Alicia 17

Our school year is winding down and I am so busy pushing out the news, collecting artwork, and gearing up for wrapping up for AP and my seniors.  We have so many art receptions in a row it gets really busy.  It is the time of the year to reap the benefits from all of the hard work.

I always present a Power Point with music to show the whole school the wonderful work from the Spring Semester.  It is also the time I share all the honors and awards with everyone.  This is one practice that takes a lot of time to prepare but my students enjoy it so much.  I also take time to write down all the accomplishments and awards that was achieved during the school year.  I recommend you do this every year and either share it with your administration or at the very least put in a file to recall what happened over the past years.

997078_10206435211419451_5029008257622132753_n

11203010_10206435211859462_1838708519862099587_n

Today was one of the last days we had with our Seniors in my Media Arts class so we celebrated by creating a fun photo shoot that included exploring Ben Heine’s Pencil VS Camera mixed in with a bright colorful parachute.  I find the activity of working together to make the parachute elevate above our heads and then sit under the colorful dome is a lot of fun, lots of giggling and amazing photos.

Our year was very successful at art show competitions and with our community service.

I am very proud of my students.  I am always impressed with what they can accomplish in a very short amount of time.

I have big plans for next year that will make all of my courses reflect more of a real life studio and closer to a full Teaching Artistic Behaviors Studio.  I have my 3-D printer coming and now if I can locate a program to help me implement the gamification workflow choice based project/job idea, I will be set.  I have a lot of research to complete and a studio to rearrange after my students leave for the summer.  I will be a busy art teacher.  I will let you know how my journey unfolds.

Ivy gysers


Actions

Information

2 responses

5 05 2015
oneartteacher

I’d love to see the powerpoint that you put together – do you think you could share? It’s a great idea to show it to the entire school!

7 05 2015
Joy Schultz

The file is huge. I am not sure how I could share it anywhere easily. It has music timing to it and over 170 slides. The students love the presentations.

Leave a comment